Wednesday, March 2, 2016

2015 BoS Award Winners

Abreu chased triple crown in rookie year.
With all the results in for the Boys of Summer APBA Baseball League (BoS), we have some history in the making on a couple of players -- I believe most people saw this coming...

Corktown's Jose Abreu became the first player in BoS history to win MVP & Rookie-of-the-Year in the same season, winning both A.L. awards -- while in the National League, Clayton Kershaw became the first player in BoS history to win the Cy Young & MVP in the same season.

Jose Abreu (76 votes) ran away with the A.L. MVP Award, the runner-up David Ortiz (Chicago) had 20 votes, with Victor Martinez (Swatara) placing 3rd (18). The National League vote was closer, Clayton Kershaw wins with 41 votes, while Seattle's Michael Brantley finished with 34 votes; T.C.'s Miguel Cabrera placed 3rd (26) & Mike Trout - 4th (21).

I personally wished that there was more of a push for Dellin Betances in the A.L. Cy Young category, because I thought the guy was just a beast for Chicago... but that's why we vote, right? Betances does get 28 votes though, but his teammate Felix Hernandez walks away with the hardware with 61 votes -- placing 2nd was the Spartans' Jon Lester with 46 votes. 

Betances does take home a trophy though, winning the A.L. Fireman of the Year Award (67 votes) over Joaquin Benoit's 45; Betances finishes 2nd in ROY with 46 votes, while Fairgrove's Yordana Ventura was 3rd with 17 votes.

Kershaw had a epic season for the Kings.
Clayton Kershaw won the N.L. Cy Young (as mentioned above) with a pair of Panthers following at 2nd & 3rd place... Corey Kluber was the runner-up at 34, while Adam Wainwright (acquired mid-season from Kingsley) finished with 18 votes.

The N.L. Rookie of the Year went to Corey Dickerson who finished with 78 votes, running away with the award over the next best player in Jeurys Familia (S.D.) with 20 votes -- his Heroes teammate Collin McHugh would finish 3rd with 14 votes.

The N.L. Fireman of the Year Award went to Greg Holland (Holland) with 73 votes, with Wade Davis (T.C.) finishing a distant 2nd (37) & Jonathan Papelbon (13) -- The only other reliever to receive votes in that category was Kelvin Herrera with 2 votes.

Now onto the BoS's best skippers....

Congrats to the A.L's choice in Stray Corrado (67 votes) of the Chicago Nine, and to the N.L's Brad Stark (64 votes). Stark (Portland Microbrewers) becomes the first BoS Manager to win the award twice now, winning it a second consecutive year. Brandon Matlock would finish as runner-up in A.L. with 40 votes (Matt Hoeppner of the Spartans - 3rd with 37 votes), while in the N.L. both Thomas Nelshoppen (Urbana) & Shawn Baier (Traverse City) finished tied at 40 votes. I believe all the managers had received first-place votes in the voting process.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...